Guitar Pick up recommendations

Play guitar? Don't know tabs? We can help you out right here.
pescidavid
First name: David
Instrument 1: Guitar
Instrument 2: Drums
Instrument 3: Piano

Guitar Pick up recommendations

Post by pescidavid »

I've been playing guitar for quite a few years now but never got into the nitty gritty of the make up of guitars and perfecting ones tone. I use the fender mustang amp which I love because there are a lot of great presets out there. But I am interested in learning more about guitar hardware so I can master my sound a bit more. My guitar is an epiphone les paul custom.
The music I play is very much what you'd expect around here. Sum 41, Blink 182, Fall Out Boy, Brand New, Taking Back Sunday (you get the picture).
I really like the tones on Does this look infected and Chuck. Anyone have bridge pick up suggestions for this? Anyone know what Sum 41 used on some of their guitars or les pauls specifically even?
From what I've read I'm seeing a lot of sh-4 Jb suggestions elsewhere online.
Thank you!
Jeremy Kill
Post by Jeremy Kill »

Yeah, the JB is the best bet for that Sum 41 sound. It's the same pickup that Deryck has used in the past with some of his live guitars during the Does This Look Infected and Chuck eras. When it comes to Blink-182, I know Tom's guitars have used the Invader (early on, for the Strat) and then the Dirty Finger pickup (for the Gibson).

I have a few guitars with the JB and I really enjoy the sound. Granted, I don't have a lot of experience with any other pickups besides the stock ones, but the JB is affordable and well-rounded. Basically, if you do not own the SH-4, that should be the first one you try out.
Faeyaner
Bunkface
Instrument 2: Guitar

Post by Faeyaner »

I'm not into guitar parts etc., either, but the SH-4 seems to be like some kind of standard as it provides a fairly high output. And that's where you wanna go when you want that distorted sound you described.